Tribute to dear nephew

Never knew the pain of losing a loved one could be this real
Never knew the void left could feel this vacuous
Never knew the bile could rise this much
And tears forever flow

Not until I saw your eyes shut, never to illuminate sunshine
And your lips holding together, not parting for any more smile
It’s healthy to let go, but never easy
And that’s why I hold on tightly to your memories;
The other breath I draw

I would wish to say you left footprints none can step up to
But that would be to admit that you really left
And the strength for that I have not
Maybe you should understand
Because even so
The tears still flow.

Published by Cardio97

As a gay man living in Africa, I have experienced first-hand the tribulations and the pain of being gay in a society that is deeply rooted in spirituality and cultural values. As a psychologist and a victim of homophobia and gay hopelessness, I only pray that you find closure on this blog. Lemme be your voice, and a beacon of hope.

3 thoughts on “Tribute to dear nephew

    1. I like the piece…it makes me remember him each day i wake up…he was really a brilliant star…love you son…forever you will remain my eldest kid…rest in peace babana

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment